Dr.habil.oec. Inna Steinbuka


Chairwoman of the Council, Inna Šteinbuka is Professor, Director of the Master's degree programme "European Studies" at the University of Latvia. Since October 2018 she is a special advisor to Vice President of the European Commission Valdis Dombrovskis. From 2011 to 2018 she has been the Head of the European Commission Representation in Latvia. She has been working at the European Commission since 2005 and was previously the Director of the Department of Economic and Regional Statistics, and the Department of Social and Information Society Statistics at Eurostat.

Prior to joining the European Commission, she has been Chair of the Public Utilities Commission of Latvia and Senior Advisor to the Executive Director of Nordic - Baltic constituency at the International Monetary Fund in Washington D.C. She has previously held various positions at the Ministry of Finance. She takes part in the activities of the "Economists Association 2010". Inna Šteinbuka is a full member of the Latvian Academy of Sciences. In 2008 Inna Šteinbuka was awarded with the Order of the Three Stars for her achievements in finance and economics.

MSc.oec. Martins Abolins


Martins Abolins is an economist at Citadele Bank with more than ten years of experience in analysis and forecasting of Latvian and global economic processes. Martins previously worked in the Ministry of Finance of the Republic of Latvia, where he gained extensive international experience representing Latvia in the European Commission and OECD working group. He worked in the UK Ministry of Finance for exchange of experience.Graduated from the University of Latvia and received a Master's degree in Economics.

MSc.oec. Ülo Kaasik

Padomes loceklis Ulo Kaasik


Ülo Kaasik has been Deputy Governor of Eesti Pank since July 2011 and has worked at the central bank since 1999, first as an economist in the Research department and then from 2007 as Head of the Monetary policy department. He also worked for two years as economic adviser to prime minister.

Ülo Kaasik graduated from the Faculty of Economics and Business Administration of the University of Tartu and holds a Master’s degree in economics from Tallinn University of Technology. As of January 1 2014, he is a member of the Fiscal Council of Latvia. His membership was extended for another six year period on March 16, 2020. 

MSc.IB. MSc.Theol. Ivars Golsts


Ivars Golsts has worked as the Director of Latvian Guarantee Agency, Chairman of the Board at Latvian State Radio and Television Centre and Advisor to the Board of Directors of European Bank of Reconstruction and Development. From 1 June 2019 till 31 August 2020 he was the Fiscal Council secretary.

Ivars holds a Master's Degree in International Business from the University of Colorado at Denver and a degree in engineering from Riga Technical University.

Currently Ivars is the Chair of Latvenergo council. On the 9th of September 2021 was approved as the FDC member.

MSc.oec. Andrejs Jakobsons



Andrejs Jakobsons is a lecturer and member of Council at RTU Riga Business School. Andrejs is specialized in macroeconomics, management economics, labor economic and international economics. Before that he led World Bank projects in the Baltic States. Andrejs has been financial and tax expert at the Latvian Employers' Confederation. Has a Master's degree in Economics from Indiana University in the USA.

Dr.oec. Jānis Priede


Jānis Priede is a PhD in economics and a professor of economics at the University of Latvia, as well as the head of the Department of Economics at the Faculty of Business, Management and Economics. Combines academic knowledge with a broad international experience. Interned at many foreign universities - Columbia University in New York (USA), Fulda University of Applied Sciences (Germany), University of Iceland (Iceland), Warsaw School of Economics (Poland), University of Aveiro (Portugal) and also universities of the nearest neighbours - University of Tartu (Estonia ) and Kaunas University of Technology (Lithuania), as well as others. Approved as a member of the Fiscal Discipline Council by the decision of the Saeima on October 19, 2023.